Sport - get involved!

SeanR

Picked up my golf clubs again this summer. Been on the range, and had a couple of rounds. The most recent one a few twilight holes, but the course was understandably parched everywhere except the greens.

Been enjoyable though. 28 handicap, would like to surpass the 18 I reached in my 20s within a couple of years. May join a club next year to stay regular.

7 hours ago, SeanR said:

I’ve done something silly:

I’ve taken up field hockey.

image.thumb.jpg.22feff15158594c6a95b16b70d0aea99.jpg

what sports to we, as a forum, participate in, and how’s it going?

Hockey was a bit of thing in our family, my mum played for Leicestershire mixed team and my aunty got a medal from the Queen for service to hockey. My other aunty's and cousin both played aswell.

As for participation ive been doing BJJ  for almost 6 years

I'd love to play cricket but, as a mid-40s unfit man who has never picked up a bat outside of playing in the park 30 years ago, opportunities aren't really around. I'd like to even just muck around in the nets, to be honest.

I did also look at the man vs fat football thing (which I think is subsidised?) but there's nothing near me.

So, er, nothing.

On 21/08/2022 at 19:42, Gabe said:

I'd love to play cricket but, as a mid-40s unfit man who has never picked up a bat outside of playing in the park 30 years ago, opportunities aren't really around. I'd like to even just muck around in the nets, to be honest.

On sundays I used to watch people play cricket in Duthie Park, Aberdeen and they basically fit your discription of yourself.

As for nets I wish there were places, a driving range almost, like the batting cages available in America for cricket or baseball that'd be great fun.

• 2 weeks later...

Went and watched a friend's daughter play in a kids tournament today.

They were the only all girl's team there and within their age range there was only one other girl (7-9yo).