Longest hiatus between starting and finishing a game

I started playing A Link to the Past in that glorious summer of 96. I was home for the summer back from uni and instead of working like all my friends were doing, I'd pretty much spent the whole summer waking up in the afternoons and gaming till the early hours and occasionally venturing out. 

At some point I'd got stuck somewhere in the game and that in conjunction with Resident Evil being released on the Playstation meant I left Zelda on the backburner to return to and complete.

Never happened... I still have the cartridge, although I'm guessing the battery backup has long since failed. 

Until now. Due to the wonders of emulation I've begun a new adventure and with the aid of save states and guides on Youtube I will complete it and finish what I started 24 years ago.   

Must be something about Zelda games. As I’d noted in the games you’d finished thread, I picked up Ocarina of Time at launch, played it a whole bunch through to the final castle... and then stopped. Until just recently, when I played through the 3DS version, start to finish. Lovely bit of software, that one.

Hmm. Still haven’t finished Twilight Princess. Maybe that next.

Played Donkey Country with my son when he was little but never finished, played it further with him years after, via emulation, never finished it, then last year we completed it together on the Wii-U 20-odd years later.

I got King Kong and Condemned with my January 2006 360s.

They took me a couple of years to complete

and Tomb Raider Legend in April 2006

Other than that, I was still trying to complete the Xbox version of XIII (2003)  in 2015

in fact, I'm half-tempted to take this post from 2012 and update it for this thread. Not to add new games to it, just update the status of the games list since then:

Games that I've never finished but are still hanging over my head, and sort of vaguely intend to complete one day: