Sign in to follow this  
lyly

Creative Block

I don't know, I feel so anxious to do so many things in my life, school and home, but I just keep crying in my bedroom, listening to songs that I will never create or thinking about the meaning of living.

Maybe I'm in a "creative block"?

Can someone help me about it?

I like to take pics, make lyrics, poems and draw. Please, help me. I am an artist stuck on own nightmare.

Spend some time looking / reading / listening to the work of people you admire and find interesting. I find that looking at photobooks almost always drives me to want to get out and take my own pictures.

• Upvote 2

Yeah, if nothing else. Look what other people are doing and copy that. Then look at the results and ask yourself what you got right, what you like. And then ask yourself what you want to improve. How to make the work your own.

Really, it's just getting down to stuff, anything, being creative and being honest about the result. Then doing it again and working on it till it improves. 

Very, very few of us are born with the ability to just knock something out on a whim. You have to work on it. Develop it until you're happy it's as good as you can do it. 

My art teacher always says "how many times have you painted that face or that view? If it's the first, why do you think it will be perfect. Even Monet and Michelangelo had to learn to be great artist.“

Dont worry if the result is duff. I take a 1000 pictures at a motor race and pick maybe a dozen I really like. Its no biggie. The only person marking the results is me, and I know if I cheated. 

Go on. It'll be fine :D

• Upvote 3

Just do. Once you accept the fact that not everything you make will be 'good' it gets easier. Just write something. Draw something. Just do it. If nothing comes nothing comes and you try again later, but you might find that the stopper comes out of the bottle and you can't shut the bloody thing off.

• Upvote 1