rllmuk
Gotters

Food Prepping

Nice one.

I made a paella yesterday which I've portioned out in a similar way. We're clearing out our cupboards and I found some Paella rice which needed using. It had chicken thighs, chorizo, peas, and broad beans in it, as well as the usual base of onion etc. 

I've been eating a lot of ready meals for the last two years, but I'm going to be getting back into proper cooking like this in a big way soon. 

I was in the same place, and just finding the ready meals so unsatisfying, the depth of flavour and quality just isn’t there, and even the good ones are full of things you wouldn’t add yourself (stabilizers, gums, thickening agents, emulsifiers etc)

1 nice home made pot, days or weeks after you’ve gone thru the faff of actually making it, feels like such a nice treat when you get home from work.

Its a bit psychological too for me, but somehow using these pots makes it even better too - you can do in Tupperware or Pyrex etc but there is something about having a pot you can just chuck after a few goes that doesn’t matter if it stains ups, cracks or warps. 

Those look great. I prep lunches to take to work. I've tried doing 5 days worth but have found that 3 days is the max as after that the texture goes and I'm sick of it, mind you that's keeping it fresh and having the same thing rather then freezing it.

That's some pretty impressive organisation there, Gotters. The meals look pretty good, too. I often make a big batch of tomato sauce or BIR curry base at the weekend, but nothing as comprehensive as a complete meal.

That beef stew is amazing, its the most gastropub tasting thing I know how to make, something about the flavour combos that just don’t make it taste home cooked

Here’s the recipe if anybody wants to try

http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/beef_and_ale_stew_with_39262