X-Rebirth - Due out November

So there is a thread already, I just posted that first vid in the Steam thread. I have no experience with the genre apart from Starfox on the SNES. Does that count? But the graphics are more than enough to make me want to play this just to look at all the pretty.

So there is a thread already, I just posted that first vid in the Steam thread. I have no experience with the genre apart from Starfox on the SNES. Does that count? But the graphics are more than enough to make me want to play this just to look at all the pretty.

It's not really anything like Starfox, as it isn't on-rails - but it is a space shooter I suppose.

Ooooo what are the earlier games like? This looks great.

The X games are like a blend of X-Wing and Elite. They vary a bit, but to give an idea, you usually start out in a small ship with a small amount of cash, and have some end-narrative goal, though you can often ignore this if you want.

You earn more money via many means, but generally they fall into the following categories:

>> You can buy cargo and sell it elsewhere. Like you might buy beef at an orbital farm and sell it at a busy residential station.

>> You can hunt down criminals.

>> You can build space stations and set up trade routes yourself, eventually making a commercial business empire.

>> You can become an outlaw yourself, preying on smaller ships.

I suppose "Skyrim in space" wouldn't be too far off - but unless they've changed since X-Tension (the last one I played) they're not about pre-written quests or complex stories - it's about emergent stuff. For example, you might build a business empire and eventually go to war with the other corporations and eventually governments, becoming some kind of super-villain - or you might focus on R&D, attempting to build the most powerful, fastest, best-armed ship in the game, and hunt down the criminal element like some kind of space Batman.