rllmuk
acidbearboy

We Want Your Soul

We Want Your Soul is the new home for discussion of soul, funk, disco and jazz etc. A recent spur of activity in the Essential Soul and Funk Albums thread prompted me to start this, as we were no longer discussing essential albums. So may the posting of excellent songs new and old continue here.

I'll get the ball rolling with a nice little track from The Undisputed Truth entitled 'Sandman'.

http://www.yousendit.com/transfer.php?acti...5DA43234DF522C7

I've always liked the tune, although I originally knew it from the 1997 remake/sample. I dug that out on vinyl today and recorded a couple of mixes. Heller & Farley did a nice 'Fire Island Groove Remix' that I may post up at some point but the original is probably the best of the bunch. Pitched down to -4 for your listening pleasure:

http://www.yousendit.com/transfer.php?acti...A3C9ED66043A4BF

There's a re-edit of Sandman I've been playing non stop for about 6 months. It's a bit better than the original, amazingly. I'm sticking on a mix I'm doing tomorrow so I'll let you know when I upload it.

Posted about this in the Essential Soul & Funk Albums thread, My favourite Paul Nice mix and every track a classic, many of them mentioned/recommended in that other thread

enjoy

Full Mix download here:Paul Nice - Soul on the Grill

Tracklisting,

1 Unknown Artist - A Message From Iris (0:58)

2 S.S.O. - Faded Lady (3:23)

3 Esther Phillips - Home Is Where The Hatred Is (2:53)

4 Raw Soul Express - The Way We Live (3:23)

5 Ernie Hines - Our Generation (2:28)

6 Love Unlimited Orchestra - Strange Games & Things (2:48)

7 Barry White - Just A Little Bit More (2:04)

8 L.A. Boppers - You Did It Good (1:05)

9 Al Green - I'm Glad You're Mine (1:34)

10 Main Ingredient - Summer Breeze (3:29)

11 Stylistics - People Make The World Go Round (3:40)

12 Ramsey Lewis - Sun Goddess (4:36)

13 Eddie Kendricks - If You Let me (2:31)

14 Dynasty - Adventures In The Land Of Music (2:10)